Coronavirus, an update from Active Cornwall

Previous Winner Goes onto Regional Success!

(L) Emma Seward - Adams from Truro College with winner Carrie Short (R)

t the 2014 Cornwall Sports Awards, Carrie Short from Bude Bay Netball Club was named Children's Coach of the Year.  Carrie was instrumental in developing the Club from 2 teams to now having over 100 members, fielding 2 Senior League Teams, 5 Junior League Teams and a new Back to Netball session.

Carrie said after her presentation 'Winning this award was so unexpected but it is truly an honour! It's also great recognition for Bude Bay Netball Club and all of our hard working coaches.

After the initial shock of winning Carrie was then surprised again by being nominated for the Netball South West Region Goalden Globe Awards 2015.  Held on Sunday 21st June 2015 at Taunton School, Carrie was announced winner of the Grassroots Coach Award.

Carrie now goes forward to compete for the National England Netball Goalden Globes in September 2015 against nominees from the other eight Netball Regions across the country.  Good luck Carrie!

2015 CSA

Natasha Howard from the Cornwall Sports Partnership said 'this is a fantastic story of a club coach being thanked locally and then going onto national recognition. We would like to see more local volunteers and coaches receiving some reward for all their dedication and hard work making sport in Cornwall happen.'

Do you know an invaluable volunteer, coach, official or club member who goes above and beyond for their club? Show your appreciation by nominating them in the 2015 Cornwall Sports Awards.

The Awards are separated into four categories and incorporate 14 separate Awards, including Club of the Year, Children's Coach of the Year and Lifetime Services to Sport.

Winners from the Coach Category will go through to the national UK Coaching Awards and winners from the Club and Volunteering Category will be put forward to the BBC South West Unsung Heroes Awards.

Nominations can be made ONLINE HERE and a printable version is also available. Alternatively please contact Natasha Howard on or 01872 323347.

The closing date for nominations is Monday 7th September 2015 so get voting!